My top ten books (for now, but I am fickle)

Blog 027I love reading.  I mean really looove reading.  I think it all stems from our Dad reading The Hobbit to us when we were little and doing it in style with the voices and everything.  Dad’s voices rocked.  As does The Hobbit (for those of you who have never read/had it read to you).

So our parents always really encouraged us to read and we always got at least one book every Christmas, something that my sister and I have always loved –our ‘improving book’ as it is called in the Webster household.  This tradition kind of went out the window a bit with the introduction of ‘The kindle’ and now the new tradition is basically for us to run around shouting ‘is this MY Kindle? Or YOUR Kindle? And where is MUM’S Kindle cos she has *insert book title* and I want to read it and she’s going to use DADS in the meantime’ etc etc etc…you can see how this can go on for some time and cause a not insignificant amount of confusion, especially given the amount of wine my family likes to drink at Christmas (Oh OK….at any time of year really).

Anyway.   I like Reading.  That was my point, hence my desire to share my top ten books with you.  Maybe you have read some of them, maybe you haven’t, I really hope you do.

 GET ON WITH IT…… 

1.        Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel

2.       Bring up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel

3.       On Green Dolphin Street by Sebastian Faulks

4.       Every Bernie Gunther novel ever written by Philip Kerr (I realise this is cheating a little)

5.       The Long Goodbye by Raymond Chandler

6.       American Tabloid by James Ellroy

7.       Stick by Elmore Leonard (and basically every book he ever wrote -again cheating but cut a girl some slack)

8.       The Distant Land of my Father by Bo Caldwell

9.       The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

10.   The Twits by Roald Dahl

Ok…so the list is in no particular order and I could go on to at least 1,000 and not run out of amazing books I have read.  I just hope that one day my novel (that is in progress and you can read a little more about here) is on someone else’s lots of other people’s list.

So grab your glasses (reading, not wine – although both will do), pull up a comfy chair and get your read on!

Natalie

Ps. Have you read any of these books? What books are in your top ten?

4 thoughts on “My top ten books (for now, but I am fickle)

  1. For some contrast with Natalie’s list, my top ten:
    1. Lord Jim by Joseph Conrad
    2. A Suitable Boy by Vikram Seth
    3. Birdsong by Sebastian Foulkes
    4. Burnt Shadows by Kamila Shamsie
    5. The Honourable Schoolboy by John LeCarre (and everything else he has written, really)
    6. The Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkien
    7. Blackswan Green by David Mitchell (and Cloud Atlas and Number Nine Dream. If Natalie can cheat, so can I)
    8. The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler, in whose shadow all crime writers stand.
    9. Riding the Rap by Elmore Leonard. No-one writes contemporary American vernacular speech better or has funnier characters. RIP Elmore. You the man!
    10. The Quiet American by Graham Greene
    11. Bandolino and The Name of the Rose by Umberto Ecco (I know that’s two; and eleven!)
    12. No more. Got to stop somewhere but it’s hard when you love books.
    Thanks for the stimulating post Natalie.
    DCW

  2. I haven’t read any of these. However, I love going to the airport and picking my holiday books so will look out for these this year. Only 17 days to go. My top ten are not improvement book, but ones I loved all the same. Here goes, in no particular order…

    1. Black beauty – Anna Sewell
    2. True grit – Charles Portis
    3. One day – David Nicholls
    4. Your next – Gregg Hurwitz
    5. The Hobbit – J. R. R. Tolkien
    6. Misery – Stephen King
    7. Black and blue – Ian Rankin
    8. Postmortem – Patricia Cornwell
    9. The Twilight books – Stephanie Meyer
    10. The Harry Potter books – J. K. Rowling

    Vic

Leave a Reply

