Mmmm breakfast bars

Blog 050

 

Yum Yum Yum.  Sunday is organisation day for food/ washing/everything you can think of for the rest of the week and I had just hung up the washing and was about to sit down with my feet up and watch Narnia: Prince Caspian – don’t judge, it is a good movie and if you don’t believe me just take a look at this:

Ben BarnesBen Barnes.  I think I have made my point.

Incidentally, he is also Dorian Grey in the movie, which is very good (and I did mention in my movie vs books post a while back).

Oh how a hot man can send me on a tangent…..as I was saying, I was about to watch Narnia and then I decided that before I got all comfy I would make breakfast bars for the week.  I think I may finally have pumpkin muffined myself out and the time has come for something new and since, as yet, I am not allowed to pour red wine on cereal for brekkie, this seemed to be the next best thing.  (I know, I know…and we live in a ‘modern’ society!)

So, here is the recipe for these delicious brekkie bars.

You Will Need –

4 cups oats
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 egg
3 egg whites
1 cup applesauce
3 tablespoons honey
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/3 cup dried fruits of the forest
1/4 cup dried cranberries
1/4 cup almonds
1/3 cup apricots

You Will Need To –

preheat the oven to 190 celcius

mix all the dry ingredients together (excluding the fruit and nuts)

mix the wet ingredients together

fold the wet ingredients into the dry ones until all the flour and oats are well mixed and there are no white streaks in the mixture.

add in the apricots, cranberries and fruits of the forest mix.

Blog 048once everything is all mixed up, spray a baking tin with oil to prevent sticking and press the mixture down into the tin.

sprinkle the almonds on the top and cook for 25 minutes.

The tin size you use is up to you – whether you’d like the bars thinner or fatter.

Once it is cooked through, take it out of the oven and leave it to cool and then cut it into whatever size slices you like.  I went with giganta slices because I am all about eating loads in the morning and less at night but each to their own and all that.

Blog 050

Right…..Prince Caspian is calling to me and yes, I know I am not a 12 year old girl but what can I say – I’m really immature.

Happy Sunday kids!!!

Natalie

So what ridiculous movies do you watch on Sundays?

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Mmmm breakfast bars

Leave a Reply

