Crossfit, Clean Eating and Protein Shakes……..

This morning was so weird.  I woke up like a zombie (minus the you know, actually being dead), drank coffee on the metro, more coffee when I got to work and still struggled all day with the exhaustion.  The bandages were quite a struggle too and the desire to eat other humans like a good little zombie.

Which brings me swiftly on to two favourite topics of mine: food and Crossfit.

I love food – pretty much all food unless it is creamy, sweet and wobbles (I don’t even like to be next to someone eating something like Flan….) and I would do Crossfit every day if my body didn’t whinge and moan so much but how do I properly combine the two? Hmmmmmm.

Paleo is no go for me – ain’t no way I am giving up chickpeas…ahhh hummus and carrot sticks.  I do try to clean eat 80/20, which is a kind of new thing for me too – I only started it about three months ago and I LOVE it.

I remember one day (on my YOLO day) I decided I would order pizza from *shall remain unadvertised* and when it arrived I was starving and super excited and then I took a bite and shock. Horror. Tears. End of world. I didn’t like it anymore! It was like the sugar fairies had snuck into the pizza shop and added extra sugar and additives and god knows what else to a formerly amazing pizza!  My initial reaction (after total dismay) was to hunt those fairies down and stamp on them but then I realised that 1. Fairies don’t exist and 2. Maybe my taste buds had just changed???  I think that was the moment when I completely bought into the Clean eating thing.  It is simple really – if it has a load of crap in it, you can taste it and it isn’t good for you…..now I eat really delicious things that I make for myself with fresh ingredients and I love it.  I still go out for Mexican food – in fact this Saturday is my joint birthday Mexican dinner olé! – and eat chocolate (mainly dark) and I don’t deprive myself but I am strict about 80% of the time and it works really well.

High Five to Clean Eating.

So with all this CE and CF I am losing weight, getting really strong and my running is much better but I don’t sleep enough and I feel like a zombie sometimes.  This makes me wonder if I need to jump on the bandwagon of taking on more protein to help my muscles after my workouts, sleep better and feel more rested in the mornings.  The thing is, I always felt like protein shakes were for dumber-than-a-box-of-hair, hugely muscled in a bad way, ‘I look at myself in the mirror when I lift’, couldn’t run the length of myself, gym bunny men……not to be judgmental at all.  So now what do I do?  I suspect some research may be in order but if anyone has any good advice I am all ears……….

Natalie

5 thoughts on “Crossfit, Clean Eating and Protein Shakes……..

  1. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s really informative.
    I am going to watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate if you continue this in future.
    Numerous people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  2. No way I’ll give up coffee either…somehow it’s the only vice I have left and I plan on taking it to the grave.
    I have had exactly the same experience with eating clean. I had a takeaway shwarma two nights ago and almost immediately I had stomach pains and I’m still suffering. I hope you enjoy Qatar. 🙂

  3. You do, of course, realize that getting more protein doesn’t have to mean protein shakes, right? I can’t freaking stand shakes. So I EAT more protein. You know like, from food. Or if you’re having a zombie day, brains would work.

    My other big tip is cut the caffeine. On days I caffeinate I have horrific insomnia for days, and have to keep drinking coffee to get thru the day, which creates a really ugly cycle. If I cut it out, or limit it, I sleep much better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

