Sunny Pulp Muffins

What?  yup, doesn’t make a lot of sense I know.  It will all become clear, don’t worry.

So I am here in sunny Doha and Wednesday was my birthday so I put on my favourite firework dress – think about the pattern, not me flying through the air with flames coming out my rear end – nobody wants that, especially not me – and we went for copious amounts of wine followed by insanely delicious Thai food….mmmmmmm, who doesn’t love birthdays? Nutters, that’s who.

The next day, as is super traditional in the middle east we went to an Oktoberfest.  Yes, I was being sarkie.  At this point, as I am sure I have mentioned in the past, it is important to point out that my parents are mental.  As are all their friends.  Therefore, when I got to Doha my Mum had found me a long skirt, German looking blouse, made me an apron and belt and done the same for herself thereby readying us for the party.  We rocked up and all their friends (females only, the men declined the opportunity to wear Lederhosen, madness if you ask me) were also dressed up but NOT A SINGLE OTHER SOUL in the place.  Did we care?  Emm, we drank a lot of German beer and wine so even if we had cared at the beginning (which we didn’t fyi) we certainly wouldn’t have cared as the night went on.  Magic.  They even had a band from Bavaria, what more could a girl want when she is wearing a drindl?

So today I did myself a little CF style workout in the gym downstairs and then made Sunny Pulp Muffins…….

CIMG0997

 

I have been getting a little excited since Mum got her very own Mixie, who came with a free juicer.  I’ve never used a juicer before so got carried away basically sending my Dad to the supermarket immediately to ‘buy anything I can juice’.  Therefore we had a lot of pulp left over and ‘ding ding ding’ somewhere in the wine muddled memories I remembered having seen a recipe by Nicole at Pumps and Iron for juice pulp muffins and so here they are….I hope you:

1. Have a juicer

2. Make a load of Pulp

3.Make these muffins and

4. Like them.

What you will need….

  • ¼ cup agave
  • ¼ cup olive oil
  • ½ cup applesauce
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups sprouted spelt flour (or any flour!)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • ½ tsp sea salt
  • 1 ½ cup juicer pulp

What you should do….

Mix the dry ingredients together

Mix the wet ingredients together

Combine the two and add the pulp (I also added a little stewed rhubarb)

put in muffin cases and cook at 190 C for about 15 minutes and……..TA DA!

I did alter Nicole’s recipe a little….

CIMG0998

Go on…make them…you know you want to…..

Natalie

One thought on “Sunny Pulp Muffins

  1. Pingback: Baking my Halloween delights ♥ |

Leave a Reply

