Cooking up a Storm……

IMG_0996

I have been busy this morning…Oh yes, I went cooking crazy.  I made delicious coleslaw, Spicy Cauliflower and Carrot Falafels and more of my delicious date energy bite thingees that I published here on the blog the other day.  I promise I didn’t eat all six in such a short space of time!  I came over all generous and nice (yes, it was a little alarming) and gave some to my work colleagues.  They went down a treat even if I do say so myself.  So aside from the slaw, falafel and bites I have also made Courgette/Cauli Quinoa bake, which is currently cooking away in my miniature oven.  Yep, it really is mini – I have to do everything in 2 or 3 batches.  Most displeasing.  Anyway, If it comes out well I will share the recipe for it during the week…oooooo, aren’t you all so lucky!!

I realise my falafels look a tad brown, ok they are plain old burnt but I did it on purpose.   I swear! I am not lying….I like things crispy.  My mate at work laughs at me cos I like everything overly browned and super hot.  Seriously, I even burn toast on purpose…it is delicious and yes, I have been told many a time that it is actually not all that good for you but since I pretty much never, ever eat toast anymore anyway I think I’ll be just fine.

This morning was doubly treatful also because when I cook I usually hook my phone up to my speakers and sing at the top of my voice to whatever I put on – which at the moment seems to be nothing but J Cole’s new album (five out of five, love it) or Drake but alas…they have died.  This week there may be a funeral for my speakers and everyone will be forced to whisper as a sign of respect – if they can’t make noise, neither should we.  Just a thought.  Anyway, I have ONE cd – I had more but a friend of mine lost them all so this morning I took my one, lonely little CD, put it in the DVD player and I got sound! loud sound from the tele! I feel like I went back in time a little listening to a CD but I am so glad I did because I forogt how much I LOVE Ginuwine!  100% Ginuwine, oh yeah.

So….if you really want to invoke the spirit of my falafel making while you make them you know what you need to listen to.

Now…without further ado……how to make the…..

SPICY CARROT AND CAULIFLOWER FALAFEL

IMG_0998

 

YOU WILL NEED…

2 tablespoon flax seeds

1 cup of cauliflower florets

1 cup of chopped carrots

1 small onion (preferably red)

3 garlic cloves (ok, I used five – I have a problem)

1 cup of coriander

1 tablespoon of freshly squeezed lemon juice

2 teaspoons of cumin

1 teaspoon of rock salt

Lots of cayenne pepper……I put in a tablespoon

2 tablespoons of pumpkin seeds

1/2 cup and 4 tablespoons almond meal

WHAT YOU NEED TO DO WITH ALL THESE THINGS….

Mix the flax seeds with a couple of tablesoons of boiling water and leave them to soak it up

Get out your Mixie and combine the cauliflower, carrot, onion, garlic and corriander.

Add the lemon, cumin, salt and cayenne pepper and blend it all until it is very fine.

Add in the flax seeds and the almond meal – it is easier if you transfer it to a different bowl or you will do what I always do and chop off little corners of your spatula on the blades – I think I’ve eaten a lot of plastic recently.

The mixture should stick together nicely but just add more almond if it doesn’t.

Make it into six patties and fry them on a medium heat – I didn’t add oil because I have a really good non-stick pan but you may need a little.

Et voila! you now have (hopefull plastic free) Spicy Carrot and Cauliflower Falafels! Woop woop!

Enjoy!  I am now off to walk my friend’s dog in the sun.

Happy Sunday

Natalie

What are you all doing today?

 

2 thoughts on “Cooking up a Storm……

  1. Two people were brought to my site through this post. I’m not sure how, but now I feel like it was Divine Intervention. This looks AMAZING, and I will definitely be trying this recipe.

Leave a Reply

