Check out the Pulp Muffins

20140422-213357.jpg

Am I, or am I not, a genius? Well, not really since it was actually Lolly’s idea but I helped…that surely has to count for something?

So I have been AWOL for a while while my big sis was visiting for Easter and we had such a great time. Lolly is a great runner (and generally a fitness maniac – think energizer bunny that never charges down) and so we went out running every single morning that she was here. Yup, that’s right – even on our holidays we got up and went out to the park for a run and while at the time I would say it was somewhat torturous, when we finished I felt great (and then we drank loads of wine). It makes a massive difference to have someone with you who is a really good motivator I think and in three days I chopped a minute off my time…check me right out! I am developing a new love (kind of) for beginning to run again. Instead of the traditional thoughts before/during a run of ‘oh man, this is going to be awful’ ‘this is so hard, how am I ever going to be able to run further than this’ ‘did someone put glue on the soles of my shoes?’ etc etc I now have the following thoughts (and thank you Pinterest for this)

20140422-213519.jpg

20140422-213512.jpg

20140422-213505.jpg

I just have to remember that even if it is hard, if I keep going I will get better and what seems hard now will one day be much easier and progress should be slow and steady! So if I have an awful run, or if it seems like somehow I slipped through a black hole and am actually now running in hell, I try to remember that tomorrow is a new day and in a week from now I will be better! Ohhhh goodness…so much positivity for one blog post high FIVE!

So anyway, I have digressed as usual. I wanted to share our pulp recipe with you all. It isn’t rocket science and to be honest we basically just chucked a load of stuff in Mixie (food processor) and hoped for the best but sometimes randomness works out for the best and they are AMAZING. Here is what we did…..

Emptied pulp from juicer into Mixie (carrot, apple, celery, baby gem lettuce, ginger, broccoli)
Added 3 cups of wholemeal flour
A sachet of baking powder
7 cloves of garlic
A tonne of black pepper
About 2 teaspoons of cumin
About 2 teaspoons of curry powder
A sprinkling of rock salt
Two small pots of fat free sour cream
One egg

We then mixed it all together, put it in little silicon cases and cooked them for about 45 minutes at 180 and they are super duperly delicious……I personally plan to make some hummus later so I can have one with the hummus for brekkie tomorrow a couple of hours after my juice. Highly recommendable.

I hope you make them. I hope you love them.

Now, I must watch Suits. Harvey is waiting for me.

Natalie

Leave a Reply

